Sunday June 28th, 2015 ~ Thoughts On Gastric Pacing

    So if you’ve followed my blog with any regularity you know that a gastric pacemaker is something I’ve been on the fence about – a lot.  So many considerations, starting with the fact that no many doctors do it and CERTAINLY not any in my area.  The fact that my insurance (thank you Obamacare <that’s another whole blog>) SUCKS, the number of people I’ve heard from who have had nothing but headaches from the pacemaker, just the thought of another surgical procedure – urgh.  The hoops to jump through with any insurance, the distance I’d have to travel, being afraid of being so far and what if something DOES go wrong?  

So there’s been a part of me that hoped and banked on my ability to “manage” my GP and to not have to consider this option.  Then there’s the part of me that spent 30 of the last 40 days laying in the hospital crying in pain, throwing up for hours becoming malnourished all over again, losing over 40 pounds and feeling like I was on my death bed.  Yeah then there’s THAT part of me.  Well during my hospital stay I spoke with two covering doctors from the digestive disease center that I go to who both told me in no uncertain terms that I REALLYYYYY needed to get to considering a pacemaker.  That’s all well and good but unless someone was willing to write me a blank check to do that I kind of felt like even if I wanted to consider it, I had to wait due to insurance.

Well as it turns out that MIGHT not be the case after all.  One of the doctors who really sat down and said ~ “look this is it, this is your life unless you consider this option” happened to have a recommendation for me.  She gave me the name and number of a bariatric surgeon at Brooklyn Hospital who happens to also do a motility/pacing program.  She spoke so highly of him that I had to take his info, and told her I’d think about it.  Finally I decided to look him up and wouldn’t you know it he IS in fact a participating provider with my lousy insurance – PJ-1, Obamacare-0!  Granted that does not guarantee that the insurance will APPROVE it, but still it’s a huge step towards having some hope.  I still also have some reservations, knowing it only has about a 50% success rate; but somehow after these last few weeks a 50% chance feels better than a 0% chance.  

So I made my first inquiry, I actually picked up the phone and made the call.  Turns out the assistant who “runs” the pacing program was off but the woman I spoke to was quite nice and helpful, always a good omen.  So I got the name and direct line of the assistant and I’m going to call her back tomorrow and see what the program entails etc. and hopefully make an appointment to go in and talk to him.  I’m still not thrilled at the distance, but this last couple of months has been a STARK reminder of how horrid it can be living with gastroparesis at it’s worst and I needed a little ray of hope right now.  I don’t want to get overly excited, but I must admit just the pleasant reception and helpfulness of the woman on the phone, coupled with learning that this particular surgeon DOES participate with my insurance was a real boost to my psyche!  So accepting prayers that this might be a turning point in my suffering and some hope for a brighter future.  As always, thanks for stopping by ~ I’ll update you soon!

Leave a comment